How do I know if i have a sound card that will work with a 5.1 Surround sound system?

Question by bob123: How do I know if i have a sound card that will work with a 5.1 Surround sound system?
How do I know if i have a sound card that will work with a 5.1 Surround sound system?

I am thinking about purchasing the Logitech X-530 5.1 surround sound system and I heard that you need a 5.1 sound card installed to make it work or sound better? How do I know if my computer has it? I have like 6 holes in the back of my computer with different colors so i dunno if that is the sound card. I looked in my drive and saw that my sound device is Sigmatel HighDef Audio Codec. Will this work? If not can i purchase any sound card as long as it has 5.1 in it? please reply asap thanks.

Best answer:

Answer by Ickypoopy
For a 5.1 surround sound card you will have between 4-6 audio ports. (Small round holes: lime green, black, light blue, magenta, tan…)

Know better? Leave your own answer in the comments!

4 Responses to “How do I know if i have a sound card that will work with a 5.1 Surround sound system?”

  1. If this is an onboard soundcard, it probably isn’t 5.1 capable.
    But if you are saying it has 6 holes, that might actually be a 5.1 compatible sound card. If you want to be for sure, check the specs of the card yourself. If you bought the computer built as is, check the box, it usually has the specs on there (or even the instruction manual)

  2. Go to the website of the sound card ask for tech support

  3. JavaScript_Junkie Says:

    I AGREE with ICKYPOOPY

  4. torhelious Says:

    Well..that’s pretty simple. If you know the manufacture of your sound card. Go to there website and check the specs on it. Or better yet. If you have the box. Look on the box. It’s not that hard to find out. If all else fails and you don’t know what type of sound card you got because it’s a base computer. (meaning preloaded from Dell, Gateway, Compact, Etc.) Then go to either the computer retailers website..or the computer manufactures website and look for your model number.

Leave a comment