How do I make the sound of my cable go through the home theater system speakers?

Question by mcaf: How do I make the sound of my cable go through the home theater system speakers?
I just bought a new LG homje theater system. It is hooked up to my tv with an HDMI cable. I also have an xbox that is hooked up to my tv with a cable. How do I make the sound of my xbox and my cable come through my home theater speakers??

Best answer:

Answer by Texperson
If your home theater has true HDMI you can attach your cable box and xbox into the receiver’s HDMI inputs, then run one HDMI into your tv out of the receiver’s HDMI output. Then you just change inputs on the receiver for the items.

If it doesn’t have the HDMI hookups, then just run your HDMI for both things into the tv. Then run optical cables straight from the cable box into the receiver, bypass the tv, and do the same with the xbox. Turn off the tv’s sound. Choose the appropriate HDMI input on the tv and the optical input on the receiver as needed for each item.

Give your answer to this question below!

3 Responses to “How do I make the sound of my cable go through the home theater system speakers?”

  1. Change ur tv sound setting to speaker as oppose to tv speakers

  2. Check your home theater system to see if there is an optical cable input for audio or an HDMI cable input. If your home theater includes a dvd or blu ray disc player you probably do not have the HDMI cable. If you have an optical audio input, connect an optical cable to it and the other end to the xbox.
    Hope this will help you out.

  3. Connect optical cable or composite cables ( red & white ) from Xbox and cable box or TV to LG system for audio.

Leave a comment